New beginnings

It has been a little while since I wrote a blog post on here. Real life got in the way – work… family… basic survival needs… the usual.

But I haven’t been idle.

From January 2018, I’ll be making some changes to my lifestyle. I’ll be exploring and trying different ways to become a healthier and fitter full-time freelancer working from home.  Over the last few weeks, I’ve been doing some research and making plans.

So what progress have I made?

  1. I’ve created a list of healthy snacks and healthy lunches.
  2. I’ve started going for walk listening to an audiobook – one I can’t put down (Sweetpea by SJ Skuse, in case you wondered). This isn’t daily yet, but that’s mainly because of the weather. My FitBit reminds me when I need to take more steps, which is helping me move around more.
  3. I’ve arranged to trial a sit-stand desk in January – so I’ll blog more about that in the new year – but I have been trying a sit-stand working routine anyway and I like it so far.
  4. I’m finding better ways to deal with stress, other than grabbing the nearest item of unhealthy food – watching some TV, reading, mindfulness, general fun and going for a walk.
  5. I’m organising the household – getting on top of washing, ironing and other chores, which helps to create a more relaxing work environment.
  6. I’m taking better control of existing health problems, whether this is through self-help measures or suitable medicines.
  7. I’m working on better sleep though I still have a long way to go on that.
  8. I’m organising my day into achievable chunks with ‘to do’ lists, reminders in my diary to eat, drink, move, unwind, stretch… I think this can be hard when you work from home and don’t have the routine of an office and other people around you.
  9. I’m taking on new challenges and looking forward to the future. I’ve gone back to a huge project I’m working on – to fulfil a childhood dream. Maybe more about that one day too.
  10. I’m setting realistic goals. I figure I’m more likely to achieve them that way.

See you in 2018!

Follow my journey on here and on Twitter – @HealthFreelance